new build pc advice needed

russ777 23:22 28 Oct 2010

Hi,

I’m thinking of building my first PC. But as I’m pretty new to this (I've only ever replaced/updated parts) I was hoping I could get some advice on the new system I'm planning and how it compares to my old system?

New system
- 650w power supply (taken from my old pc)
- Zalman MS1000-HS1 Mid Tower Case
- Asus P6X58D Premium Motherboard
- Intel core i7 950 3.06GHz Socket LGA1366
- Corsair XM53 8GB 12800 1600mhz DDR3 Memory
- Nvidia 1024MB GEFORCE 9800GT (taken from my old pc till i can afford my new one)
- My DVD drive will be my old one for now.

Old System
- 650w power supply
- ASUS P5K-E/WIFI motherboard
- Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 2.40GHz
- 8GB CORSAIR XMS2 800MHz memory
- Nvidia 1024MB GEFORCE 9800GT

Thanks for you help.

northumbria61 08:26 29 Oct 2010

I would read this first - click here

And this -
click here

gengiscant 08:44 29 Oct 2010

This is a great board. However you may want to take a look at the ASUS P6X58D-E or the Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R which are both cheaper and in my opinion offer better value for money.
You do not mention a case,this is other item which can make putting the PC together a easy or difficult experience. Then there is overall cooling and whether it is easy to access the various components when you want to upgrade etc.

Another site I use for building advice which is more specialized than PCAdvisor is click here

I spend a lot of time comparing components before buying, checking compatibility etc.So you are right in seeking others opinions.
Good luck with your build.

russ777 10:43 29 Oct 2010

Thanks for the help. I shall have a look at the links.

I did look at the ASUS P6X58D-E and compared the spec with the Asus P6X58D Premium. They both looked very similar to a novice like me. The reason I picked the P6X58D Premium was because I was told this was future proof and ready for next Intel chips. Is this the same for the P6X58D-E and GA-X58A-UD3R?