New build

jontee 17:41 03 Aug 2006

Just put my first pc together (total novice)
Started it for the first time, lights came on all fans worked temp sensor worked etc. but I don`t seem to have any signal to the monitor, no messages just nothing. tried another graphics card still no signal, what have I done wrong?
Mobo MSI K9N Platinum ( AM2) Graphics card Asus EN7600GT.any advice would be welcome (not too technical ) thanks

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 17:51 03 Aug 2006

1. check power to monitor
2. check monitor to card connection
4. check monitor on another PC)

4. ensure card is FULLY inserted in slot (can require a good push)
5. check if card requires a power plug from PSU.
6. check on board graphics disabled in BIOS if using seperate card.

jontee 18:11 03 Aug 2006

Power to monitor, yes

Monitor to card appears ok ( did try other card)

Monitor does work on other pc

Card in all the way screw tight. dont think it needs seperate power supply ( fan on card is working)

How do I check bios setting? cant get signal to monitor yet, or is there something on the board

hope this helps

rodriguez 18:16 03 Aug 2006

Try pulling out the graphics card and using the on board graphics instead (if there is no on board graphics there could be a hardware fault). If the on board graphics work, you can then get into the BIOS and change the graphics from on board to accelerated. When you exit the BIOS and save, it should go black and then only output graphics from the card. This is what i had to do a couple of times on computers at work, but they were a couple of years old. Normally the modern boards automatically switch from on board to accelerated when a card is detected, but sometimes they may still need to be switched in the BIOS.

Totally-braindead 18:28 03 Aug 2006