New Box Layout

gibbs1984 18:47 30 Aug 2006

Hi,

I have been playing around with my website for the last couple of hours and decided that I didn't really need all the space I had so I decided to make a sort of box style in the middle of the browser, I'm pretty new to CSS so if anyone can tell me if I've positioned things wrong then it would be much appreciated, also any views of the new layout are welcome.

Do the colours go together ???

Is it in the right position ???

etc etc

Please bear in mind I haven't added any content yet as I just wanted to make sure that the layout was ok, I have added it to my original site as a sort of secret page that can only be found at this address click here

Regards,

Steve

ade.h 19:08 30 Aug 2006

It looks like you haven't centred the div in your style sheet, but I'm not sure.

gibbs1984 19:18 30 Aug 2006

Ok, I see what your saying, positioning the box so that it is in the center without positioning it exactly from the top and left but how do I do this though.

#box {
position: absolute, fixed, inherit, relative, static; ???
}

If you see what I mean.

Steve

ade.h 19:27 30 Aug 2006

body {
margin: 0;
padding: 0;
text-align: center;
min-width: 800px;
}

ade.h 19:29 30 Aug 2006

By the way; don't use absolute positioning because IE doesn't support it. If you need to position objects and text areas, use relative positioning.

gibbs1984 21:14 30 Aug 2006

ade.h thanks for the reply, I have changed a couple of bits but if I was to make the browser window smaller it doesn't center the box.

Is there anyway to do this ???

This is the style that I have to position the box, it is set to relative.

#box {
font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;
width: 620px;
height: 600px;
border: 5px #7DA5D8 solid;
top: 100px;
left: 317px;
background-color: #BED8F3;
}

Steve

ade.h 21:36 30 Aug 2006

You need to put a div around your body content, inside the body tags. Call it wrapper if you like.

#wrapper {
text-align: justify;