Networking problem

iedwards1919 18:31 04 Jan 2006

I have a Dell Dimension desktop and a Belkin 802.11g Router. I have two advent 7081 laptops in different rooms in the house, both with USB wireless adaptors. The laptops can access the internet perfectly. My Dell machine can see that the laptops are on the network I have set up. The problem is that my laptops cannot see into my Dell machine and cannot therefore use the printer attached to the Dell machine. The error message which appears mentions that, "I may not have permission to use this network resource."
I have spoken to PC World at length and been told that the problem appears to be with the permissions on the DEll computer.
I have spoken to Dell who tell me that they will not help home customers with network problems and recommend that I go to PC World.
I am not too technically minded but can get through the basics. Can someone out there please tell me what I need to do to get this all working!

Fingees 18:52 04 Jan 2006

Go to control pamnnel
Click on printers and faxes.

Right click printer.
Sharing.

Tick relevant box.

If thats ok,
do likewise with
My computer. Hard drive. right click. sharing. Etc.

Hope this helps.

Any specific file to share can go in shared folder.

Hope this helps

iedwards1919 18:58 04 Jan 2006

I have tried all those and still no joy.
The printer has a hand underneath it.
The C Drive has a hand underneath it.
I have tried turning off all firewalls and all security but still no joy.
I am sure it is something simple but it is driving me nuts!

jimmer409® 19:05 04 Jan 2006

really simple question, but do all three computers have different names, but the same workgroup name,(i.e. MSHOME) worth checking out

mgmcc 19:30 04 Jan 2006

<<< The C Drive has a hand underneath it. >>>