Networking Newbie..

Dellman 11:58 27 Feb 2006

My dad has bought a laptop. He already has a desktop PC. He's looking to be able to access things like Printer currently linked to PC and internet access (only on dial-up presently).

What are the options?

Ideally looking for not too much expense. Is wireless also an option?

Danoh 12:36 27 Feb 2006

If his operating systems are Windows XP or Media Centre, then yes and its relatively simple to do (although I have yet to get shared printing setup properly yet).

Wireless internet access via dial-up should also be possible, although I have no experience of setting this up (last time I used dial-up was a few years ago).

Other forumites are bound to have experience in this ~ wait for them to post suggestions.

recap 12:41 27 Feb 2006

click here it should help you decide which is the best way to go. At the top of the page select your option from the "How Do I" drop down list.

Dellman 13:21 27 Feb 2006

At a "very" basic/minmal level...for the printer side of things, is it possible to use/get a USB Hub/switch?

Danoh 21:15 27 Feb 2006

If you are considering a USB hub and thereby USB networking, then your Dad would only be using the new laptop in the same room as his existing desktop PC?

The least (zero) cost option is the swap cables between the desktop and laptop depending on whichever one is being used.

If you are considering wired connections, that can be a simple USB or an Ethernet crossover cable connecting the laptop and desktop together, without any need for a hub or router, BUT realistically only if both are running Windows XP (I am guessing at your networking knowledge).

If you would also like to be able to use the laptop as its intended, i.e. mobile and unattached to wires, you can get a wireless router for around £50 or even less. That can be connected (wired) to the desktop PC and beam wirelessly to the laptop (assuming it already has built in wireless capability).