Networking with CAT6 UTP cable?

Emett 20:48 26 Feb 2006

Hello everyone,

I am new to networking. I have moved into a house which has a Belkin CAT6 UTP cable between two rooms. The previous owner said he had two PC's connected with gigabit cards?

1.)I wonder if I can use the existing cable to connect two Windows XP PC's? I have looked at buying a Netgear DG834 or 834GT since I can't decide if it is worth paying the extra to go wireless in the future.

2.)I have a 2MB broadband BT connection, my ISP is Tiscali. If i can go gigabit too, is it worth it? - The PC's are used for online FSP gaming, and one PC (away from modem connection) is Windows Media Centre PC.

Many thanks.

terryf 21:55 26 Feb 2006

I have a Dg834 router and two PC's connected to the router, the router connects to the internet. All done with cables. It was a doddle to set up and XP file and printer sharing works fine.If you go wireless there is the remote possibility that someone could use your internet connection. I am not sure but I believe wired connections work at 100mbs but wireless is slower at 54mbs. I expect some-one will know this. The router is transparent as far as connection to [email protected] from either machine, I leave the router switched on all the time so only have to switch on either machine to go on the web

phono 22:09 26 Feb 2006

I too have a DG834, excellent bit of kit with no problems in the 3 plus years I have owned it, rock solid Internet and Network connections and an extremely reliable hardware SPI firewall.

Now the downside, the DG834 will not, as far as I know, support 1 Gigabit connections, it is a 10/100 unit which I believe Netgear claim will support up to 200 Mbps. Your Gigabit cards would still connect but not at 1 Gigabit speeds.