"network cable unplugged" message

johnedlord 14:45 29 Aug 2009

I have a Samsung NC10 hard wired to a Edimax router. I get a "network cable unplugged" message, sometimes every few seconds, if I configure the Fast Internet Controller to run at 100mbs full duplex. If I use a setting of 10mbs, again at full duplex, the problem disappears. I am with Virgin Media Broadband and the router is wired to the modem they provided. My broadband speed is a nominal 10mbs. If I run a Speed Check, at the lower setting my download speed is approx half that of the higher setting.

I am a newbie to networking. Any help would be useful. I have checked all the cables and connections, which are new. Many thanks in anticipation of any members help

ambra4 17:32 29 Aug 2009

“I get a "network cable unplugged" message, sometimes every few seconds, if I configure the Fast Internet Controller to run at 100mbs full duplex”

What is the model # of the Edimax router

Check these settings on the lan card

Right click on Local Area Connection Display Icon on task bar

Click Status – General - Properties

At the top of display the type of Lan card will be displayed

Click Configure – Click - Advanced Tab

Click - Connection Type - Change to “Auto- Negotiation”

Click- Flow Control - Change to “Hardware Default (Auto)”

Click - Power Management Tab

Un-Tick if selected "Allow Computer to turn this device off to save power

johnedlord 18:52 29 Aug 2009