Netgear USB adapter not tuning in to channel

Giggle n' Bits 02:24 21 Oct 2006

ok, managed to get the connection with my netgear modem router but the wireless adapter when scanning the channels nows and can see my connection and shows it but then just keeps scanning round the channels in the screen at the bottom.

My router shows as being padlocked, the strenght is good, but carn't hold onto the router.

Can someone suggest what I can check in my settings as I tried the pdf manual. please.

Giggle n' Bits 13:19 21 Oct 2006

sidandlil 19:17 21 Oct 2006

probably no use to you, but my netgear would not lock onto the default channel. i had to set up and name my own channel before it worked. sorry if its no use but Im a beginner too and I had problems with mine

Giggle n' Bits 21:03 21 Oct 2006

This is what netgear tech support got me to do earlier today. Change the channel to 1, change the security type to WEP from WPA/PSK

So the below extracted from the Text of my Netgear. Says WEP is greater security but the WPA should be used if possible. Very confused now to which is best. HELP !!!!!!!!!

WEP - WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy), if used, encrypts data before transmission. This provides greater security and privacy. All Wireless Stations need to use the same settings (WEP Key size and WEP key).

WPA-PSK - This version of WPA uses a PSK (Pre-shared Key) for authentication, so you don't need a Radius Server. All Wireless stations need to use the same PSK (Pre-shared Key). Data transmissions are encrypted using a 256 Bit key derived from the PSK. This key changes regularly, providing greater protection. WPA is more secure than WEP, and should be used if possible

sidandlil 14:37 22 Oct 2006

sorry Mtye Im a beginner too like I said, but I was told that WPA is the better security.
The main thing is though are you working OK now because i would leave it personally if you are

sidandlil 14:38 22 Oct 2006