Nero Data disc or MP3 disk

Switcher 16:42 20 Jan 2008

When copying MP3 files to a Cd to play in an MP3 cd player is there any difference between creating a data disc and adding the mp3 files or creating an MP3 audio disc. (Nero 6 )

ambra4 16:44 20 Jan 2008

Use make a MP3 audio disc

Switcher 16:48 20 Jan 2008

What it the difference ? Both seem to do the same thing

ambra4 17:12 20 Jan 2008

The data disk would not play in all cd players like some car stereo systems, and some home players while the audio cd will play in all cd players once it an Mp3 player

br1anstorm 17:18 20 Jan 2008

I'm not an expert (still trying to figure out such things myself). But I think the difference is this:

If you burn MP3s to a CD as a "data disc", then the tracks are transferred as MP3s - so you can get up to 100 or so tracks on a CD, and the disc can be read/played on an MP3-compatible cd player.

If you burn MP3s to a CD using the "audio disc" option in your (Nero or other) software, then (as I understand it) during the burning, Nero converts the MP3s into a format (possibly .wav?) which enables them to be read on ordinary CD players as well. This conversion un-compresses the MP3s, so you end up only being able to burn around 15-20 tracks on to a standard blank CD.

Hope this helps. If it's not quite acurate, I'm sure someone else will comment!

br1anstorm

ambra4 17:43 20 Jan 2008

“Nero converts the MP3s into a format”

Not quite right if you make an audio cd, Nero will un-compresses the MP3s, so you end up only being able to burn around 15-20 tracks and can be play on all cd players

If you use make a MP3 audio disc using Nero the disc can be read/played on all MP3-compatible cd player and car stereo system

Take a read of this posting

click here

Switcher 19:42 20 Jan 2008