A need to know question regarding a GPU

Graphicool1 14:22 20 Oct 2013

Hi guys, I have a...

Windows 7 32 bit

Nvidia Geforce GT 240 GPU

Intel Dual Core Sandy Bridge Processor

Socket 1155 LGA

6GB RAM

I have recently started playing an MMORPG namely TERA Rising. Although I can play it with my current set up. I have to reduce the graphics quality and thereby reduce my enjoyment of the game. So I decided to upgrade the GPU. So, after a lot of research I have settled on an...

Nvidia GeForce GTX 650 TI GPU (with 2GB onboard)

Now it transpires that one of the requirements is for a...

PCIe 3.0 x16 slot

But mine is a...

PCIe 2.0 x16 slot

Q - If I put this card in my 2.0 slot, will it still work?

The rest of the Internet gives mixed answers to this question.

northumbria61 15:22 20 Oct 2013

I am no expert Graphicool but I think you will find it is backwards compatible so yes it willenter link description here work. See this link and post from deadlyghost1234

northumbria61 15:23 20 Oct 2013

Sorry - read one below that from Oxezz

Graphicool1 16:06 20 Oct 2013

Hi northumbria61

Thanx for replying, I checked out your link. The Oxezz guy said you can run a 650 Ti GPU and a 450W PSU* no sweat. However, when I read the specs it said that 450w was the bare minimum?

I've just seen this feed back from "Dayummm son!" on Amazon, ...(Feed back link) or just read what he had to say here...

"This card is AMAZING....... until it broke! it was all working fine on my pc

FX 6100 3.3Ghz

8Gb RAM

450watt psu

win 7

but one morning it just said no and would not work and kept crashing my pc that's what i get for using the bare minimum for the card. However i now have a 500watt psu and waiting for he new card. The card is great and can max any game i threw at it!"