Need help with getting a new motherboard

lothlann 19:52 22 May 2008

Hi there,

i just bought Age of Conan and am looking to upgrade my motherboard and CPU but i have 2 problems:

1) i know little about motherboards/installing them/and whats is good, same with CPUs

2) I have a nice graphics card (gefore 7600, serves me well) and its quite new but is AGP and dont want to have to get rid of it as im on a budget (im a law student).

Can anyone recommend a good board and CPU bundle, preferably with AGP, im not really sure where to look.

Thanks for any help you can give.

Ditch999 19:57 22 May 2008

The purpose of upgrading is to move to new, better and faster technology. Retaing AGP defeats this purpose.
If you were to upgrade mobo from AGP one then the chances are you will need new RAM, CPU and power supply, maybe even a new hard disk. When you add it all together and then budget for an OS it would be nearly as cheap to buy a new base unit.

Technotiger 20:08 22 May 2008

The 7600 is PCI Express - so you can upgrade your mobo and CPU and still keep your 7600.

I recently upgraded my mobo and CPU and retained my GeForce 6600 which I like - having upgraded, I can now use my FSX DeLuxe at Ultra-high settings on all sliders. Anyone with FSX will understand what I mean.

Technotiger 20:11 22 May 2008

I upgraded to ASRock Conroe 1333-D667 R3.0, and a Intel P4 3.00Ghz CPU.

Technotiger 20:12 22 May 2008

Forgot to mention I also doubled my 2Gb RAM (XP Home SP3)

jack 20:13 22 May 2008

Amplifying TechnoTiger more
Go to click here and take a look at the
MoBo/CPU/Processor bundles - they come all assembled ready to go, all you have to do is screw it in and plug it up.

Ditch999 20:35 22 May 2008

Technotiger - A 7600 can be either AGP or PCIe. lothlann has stated that his is AGP.