need help with computer upgrade

hi everyone

im not very good with computers so need some advice. I have a very old computer it is a emachines e4056 pentium 4 3.06ghz 3.07ghz 368mb of ram (not very good i know) running xp. I run a few programs called fruity loops 9 with alot of of plugins and a midi keyboard and also just got cubase. i have not even bothered installing cubase yet as it cant handle fruity loops with added plugins. So would i be able to buy another tower and link it somehow to the one i have?. I have seen a tower for sale it has a dual core 2 and 80gb and 2gb ram. I went into *!@:y world (pcworld) to get some advice, and told the guy about the tower i had seen for sale he said it was complete rubbish and dual core 2 would not be able to handle the programs he said i needed 500gb 4gb ram asus motherboard with a pny invidia quadro fx 580(what ever that is) m-audio sound card and a i7 that is the only setup that will run it im so confused! so any advice would help thank you

961 12:49 15 Jan 2011

Don't buy a tower to link to the one you have. If you buy another ensure it will do what you want by itself

You don't say if the tower you describe is new or secondhand but in any event a dual core 2 (Speed?) with 2gb ram should be fine although an 80Gb hard drive is very small which leads me to think this is a second hand unit. It will need a good video card and sound card but does not need an i7 processor

Requirements for cubase can be found here
click here

You'll do better trawling forums re cubase and fruity loops rather than asking at PCW

Or come back here

woodchip 13:05 15 Jan 2011

PC World are not going to recommend any other, than there own computers

thank you 961 the tower is secondhand, ill keep looking for one with a bigger hard drive, as looking at cuebase requirements 250+ should be ok?
glad daul core 2 is good enough because the price of i7 is very high ive only £200 quid to spare