Need help with changing from PC to laptop

littlewelshgirl 11:02 10 Sep 2008

Hi, I must admit I am not that good with computers and I need help.

I have an old Windows 98 PC connected to NTL Broadband. My PC is old and slow and I want to start using an Acer TravelMate 2410 Series Laptop that I have been given.

Basically where do I start what do I need to do or buy as thats all I have is the Laptop. I have ordered a wireless router from Virgin but I don't even know if that is what I need. Can somebody please help me step by step???

THANK YOU.......

crosstrainer 11:29 10 Sep 2008

The specs below indicate that your laptop has built in wireless ability (although it's the old "B" version)

If you purchase a wireless router / modem combination, it should work with your machine.

You need to check with NTL for compatible cable models first though.

Then, when you have the kit, connect as per the manuals instructions, then, after you have setup the router / modem your lappy should be able to see the connection. If you have problems, post back..... Remember, you must have a cable compatible wireless router / modem combo for this to work.

General
ProcessorCeleron M
Processor number370
Processor speed1.5GHz
Motherboard chipsetIntel 910GML Express
CentrinoYes Memory/Storage
Amt of RAM256 MB (max 2048 MB)
Hard drive40 GB
Optical driveDVD/CDRW combo Connectivity
Ports4 x USB; RJ45 (LAN); RJ11 (modem); VGA-out
BluetoothNo
InfraredNo
Ethernet10/100
Modem56K data/fax
Built-in devices1 x Type II PC Card slot
Wireless LAN802.11b, 802.11g
WebcamNo Display
Graphics hardwareIntel Graphics Media Accelerator 900
Amt of video RAMUp to 128MB shared
Diagonal screen size15.4 inch
LCD technologyTransflective TFT (widescreen)
Screen resolution (max)1,280 x 768 Multimedia
RemoteNo
DVD/MP3 without bootupNo
TV tunerNo
Sound hardwareIntegrated audio; 2 x speakers
Jacksmic-in, earphone-out

wee eddie 21:50 10 Sep 2008