my phone rings I dc

shandalf 13:23 01 Dec 2006

I have just upgraded to bt wireless. I play WOW and everytime the phone rings i loose conection.I am also experiencing lag. I have 3 pcs all using wireless adapters.I have tried using ethernet cable and it still happens .All pcs are windows xp .I used to use a dlink router with the same pcs and never had a problem it feels like i have taken a step backwards . I asked bt to help and they did remote control on pc they said it cos i didnt have wireless set up right and they have fixed it , they havent can any one advise me what to do please by the way I am only learning about all this stuff so I need it simple

Totally-braindead 13:36 01 Dec 2006

Do you have filters fitted on all connections that go to the phone lines?

shandalf 13:41 01 Dec 2006

yes I have a filter then the bt hub, i have tried the phone in the filter and also in the hub makes no difference

Strawballs 14:29 01 Dec 2006

I think Totally-braindead means that you should have a filter on both the phone and the hub.

shandalf 14:45 01 Dec 2006

thanks for replies , Bt said put the phone into the hub then u get free phone call evening and weekends it didnt work. So into the main socket I have put the filter and the hub goes into that so do i plug another filter into the first filter then the phone sorry if I seem stupid.

Totally-braindead 15:11 01 Dec 2006

I'm not really up on this BT home hub thing. Does it not come with instructions?

I have a standard broadband connection. I have 2 phone sockets, a filter connected to each of them, one is in my living room and has a phone connected to the filter and the other has the router for the broadband and a phone connected to the filter. If I had another phone somewhere else then I would need a filter on this as well.