My first attempt!

Djohn 17:05 01 Jul 2006

Hello guys, this is my very first attempt at designing a website. I don't mind saying, I found it very difficult to start with and reading a couple of books didn't seem to help me much either, but with help from my mate cycoze who gave lots of encouragement and tips I've managed to get this far.

I did the work in FrontPage 2003 mainly because this is the only application I have beside Notepad for editing. I've used both the design and code view along with examining and using the 'tags' to try and learn a little of coding.

I left the borders in and coloured them maroon which shows up fine in I.E. but not Firefox. I've been told this is something to do with the way FrontPage does the coding. I have tried to find a way round this, but can't so will appreciate any advice.

Anyway, its my first go, I'm pleased with what I have so far and though it was a struggle at first, I'm now enjoying it as I find things working the way I intended them to.

Any help, advice will be appreciated, there is still a lot more to do but due to my health I can only spend a short period each time working on the site.

Thank you to those who take the time to look and comment. dj.

Djohn 17:07 01 Jul 2006

It would have course help if I gave the address.
click here

CurlyWhirly 19:40 01 Jul 2006

Very good djohn and excellent for a first attempt :)

Mr Mistoffelees 20:24 01 Jul 2006

The maroon borders also do not show up in Opera 9.

ade.h 22:10 01 Jul 2006

Not a bad first effort, particularly the use of a contact form (PHP I presume; did you hard code the PHP file?). I'm a little envious, because I only recently conquered the PHP thing, despite being into this for over a year!

Djohn 22:48 01 Jul 2006

Thank you guys, I will attend to the cell padding. :o)

Hello ade.h, keeping well I hope? Yes but I too had a lot of trouble with it as FrontPage did not want to play with the format. :o(