MS Visual C++ Runtime Library Error

[email protected]#36 17:47 12 Sep 2010

I'm trying to re install my HP C7280 printer software which inexplicably stopped working this week.
I was getting a window to say the driver/software had not completed install (wich was false as I had been using it for several months) The printer also works fine from other programmes etc and shows up in Printers and devices.
I have tried all sorts of options inc unistalling and re installing but I always come up against a window that states:
Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library
X Runtime Error!
Programe: C:\users etc.... \Setup.exe
This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the application's support team for more information

I have the most upto date download from HP, which is for Win 7 X64 and I have run a Reg Cleaner as most advice on the internet seems to suggest and still no luck.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks

[email protected]#36 11:04 14 Sep 2010

Anyone?, surely I haven't come up with a problem no one can solve!

skeletal 12:26 14 Sep 2010

I assume your problems are with the “extra” software you get with printers i.e. that the printer’s drivers are all OK otherwise you would not be able to print from other applications.

This kind of message suggests to me that the “extra” software has a bug in it.

You also said “it inexplicably stopped working”. I wonder if, putting 2 and 2 together and getting 5, you have recently done a Windows/software upgrade? There is a chance that such an upgrade has changed a dll (or something) that the printer software was relying on which would then manifest itself as a bug.

Any chance of a system restore to before this may have happened?

I’m not an expert in this area, but your cry for help from the wilderness prompted this, probably not very helpful, reply!

Skeletal

[email protected]#36 12:32 14 Sep 2010