MP3 player wont take more files

magnus35 14:22 18 Oct 2006

I am a total novice at this but was pleased when I managed to load tracks from my CDs onto my newly purchased Nortek Running 1Gb MP3 player , however , although the memory on the device shows that it is at 50% capacity , it wont seem to allow me to transfer any more data . The instructions state that some memory is used by the player itself . When I checked the level before starting to add anything it showed that only 1% was being used . Nortek's suggestion that any problems may be addressed by visiting their website and checking the FAQs was a dead loss as there are none available .
I am using Windows XP and the files are transferred as WMA via Windows Media Player .
Am I missing something obvious ? Any advice would be greatly appreciated .
Magnus35

sean-278262 16:33 18 Oct 2006

Does this player load up in windows and show in my computer as a drive? If it does right click on it and click on properties to find out how much is being used. Have you tried clearing all your songs back to your PC and starting again?

v1asco 16:44 18 Oct 2006

if it is recognising your player as a new drive I have found the easiest thing to do is to load all music onto computer then drag and drop.

v1asco 16:44 18 Oct 2006

if it is recognising your player as a new drive I have found the easiest thing to do is to load all music onto computer then drag and drop.

v1asco 16:45 18 Oct 2006

am I seeing double?

sean-278262 16:57 18 Oct 2006

No dont worry. The forum does that sometimes. You will see loads of posts the same as yours where a double has occured. Sometimes it is the users fault others the forum software.

magnus35 17:47 18 Oct 2006

Thanks for the responses .
The player is recognised as a removable storage device and there are no problems adding files to it .