more help needed please

nellyc 19:35 20 Apr 2006

hi guys got my laptop (on xp) the detect my works network but when i got home (on 2000) it will not detect the home network.
i have found tick box on my lan properties which says "enable internet sharing for this connection" but when i tick it,then settings then Add, it wants, name of application, remote server port number,incomimg responce ports, TCP & UCP. Can one of you kind soles tell me if im on the right track and where to get the infomation needed.
I have little networking knowledge so be gentle with me.
Thanks Nellyc

mgmcc 19:42 20 Apr 2006

If you are trying to connect your Windows XP laptop to an existing home network, presumably incorporating a Router, you do *NOT* want to enable Internet Connection Sharing on any of the laptop's connections.

The laptop connects to the router, either by ethernet cable or "wirelessly", gets its IP address from the router and should then have network & internet access.

nellyc 19:50 20 Apr 2006

Hi mgmcc
the enabling is on the home network win2000 system.
what im trying to do is get my laptop to see my home network (i know it can see my work one)but i do not know how this is done.
My router works and i can connect to my broadband on my home system but i do not know how to get the laptop to read the network.
thanks
nellyc

mgmcc 22:09 20 Apr 2006

You need to set any folders that you want to have available over the network as "Shared" by right clicking and selecting the Sharing & Security option. Set at least one folder as shared in each PC.

Any firewall software needs to be configured to allow access to the networked computers. Also both computers need to be in the *same* Workgroup. If the Workgroup name at your place of work is, for example, "Officenet" then it would be easier to give your Win 2000 that Workgroup name too so that you don't have to keep changing the setting in the laptop.

<<< the enabling is on the home network win2000 system >>>