More help on Excel wanted please

Ray5776 20:56 12 Dec 2006

Hi Everyone,

I am fairly new to Excel and very impressed with it so far, the trouble is having found the basic spreadsheet principle relatively easy the more complex issues I find are far from it.

I will try to explain what I want to do and welcome your advice and suggestions.

Say Col N Is oustanding invoices and Col L is payments made.

Entries in Col N (outstanding) to be in red font until payment is made, then to go to black font colour.

This is not as simple as it seems
Example Col N £250
£250
£261
Payment of £511 is paid but it has to relate to the first dated £250 and the £261.

Another example

Col N £3.60
£5.00
£8.70

Col L has a payment of £15.00, I want this to show as an error.

Col L must equate to any combination of sums in Col N but in date order or show as error.
I have used 3 figures but fifteen would be about the norm.

I expect someone to say "conditional formatting"
but I need a little more guidance on this one please.

Not an easy thing to explain either.

ray

VoG II 21:08 12 Dec 2006

Does each row correspond to a single transaction or could cost/payment for one purchase appear on multiple rows?

If they are on single rows then Conditional Formatting should work. If you are looking at e.g. a PO number in another column and costs/payments that refer to that in other rows then things get complicated.

Why is

Col N £3.60
£5.00
£8.70

an error?

Ray5776 19:30 13 Dec 2006

Hi VoG,
as I said I find this difficult to explain and I think it will be complicated, part of the "fun" of learning.

Col N. £3.60
£5.00
£8.70

should show as an error as a payment of £15.00 does not relate to any of these invoice combinations.

Ref your first point, I am not sure what you mean here, what I want to do is that when I receive a payment of X amount it looks through all outstanding invoices (on earlier lines) and equates the ammount paid to the invoices.

Example is:

owing £1 £2 £3 £4 £5 £6

paid £10