Monitor problems - please help

TEG79 14:11 02 Dec 2007

Hi, I'm hoping someone can help me. I recently bought a Core 2 Duo Zoostorm PC, but I'm having trouble setting the monitor up. I'm a complete novice as far as PCs are concerned.

The Monitor is a X1910WDS amw LCD monitor.

Now, I've followed the set-up guide regarding the monitor, and connected the cable with the blue ends between the PC and monitor, as well as the sound cable (colour coded green), so the audio cable is in as well as the VGA. Obviously, the AC is attached as well.

However, when I switch the PC and monitor, all I get is a small display saying NO SIGNAL and the light on the monitor turns to amber.

Any ideas what I can do? It mentions something about a DVI connector (Dual Model only - no idea what that means), but I don't seem to have anything to connect it to the PC with.

Ashrich 14:51 02 Dec 2007

If your monitor can do both DVI and VGA , there may be something on the monitor buttons to switch between the two , it would be one of the buttons on the front . I have a dual input LG monitor that can do the same .

Ashley

TonyM 14:53 02 Dec 2007

Check the manual , but there is probably one of the buttons on the monitor which changes the input from DVI to VGA...?

SANTOS7 14:55 02 Dec 2007

could be set to digital rather than analogue i have an LG that does similar, has to set to analogue to work...

TEG79 14:59 02 Dec 2007

Let me see. There are some buttons and it mentions an OSD menu.

What exactly is the difference between VGA and DVI. I have an adaptor that fits into the DVI socket, but no cable for it.

TEG79 15:00 02 Dec 2007

How do I change the settings? None of the buttons seem to work with the light on amber.

Diemmess 15:42 02 Dec 2007

One interpretation of OSD is On Screen Display

This is probably a way of tweaking the appearance once you have a display!