Monitor blank when booting up computer

shaunq 10:55 17 Jul 2013

Hi all,

A couple of days ago my computer froze during normal usage. When trying to reboot the computer the monitor stayed completely blank, with an orange light rather than the usual blue one (as if in standby mode perhaps). The computer turned on fine, it was just that the monitor wasn't picking anything up.

I'm not a computer expert but I'm guessing this is a hardware fault. I have tried to isolate several different parts to test each component. The monitor was plugged in to a different computer and works fine. I also suspected the video card might have been at fault and so I replaced it with a video card from an old computer and the problem still existed.

I'm now unsure as to what else it could be, perhaps the mother board?

If anyone has any ideas what else could be causing it or suggestions for how to resolve this then that would be a huge help!

Thanks, Shaun

spuds 11:08 17 Jul 2013

Have you checked to see if its a driver issue?.

You haven't mentioned the operating system you have, but have you also checked in the installed monitor devices part of system, and seeing if there are errors or diagnostic checks showing there?.

shaunq 11:55 17 Jul 2013

Thanks for your response.

I am running XP.

To check the drivers wouldn't I need to be able to boot up the PC fully? I can't see any of the boot up process as the monitor is blank instantly. This means I can't get into safe mode or anything like that to attempt to resolve a problem, hence me thinking its a hardware problem.

Or are you saying that I should try to turn the computer on with a different monitor plugged in as it may be an issue with the way the computer is reading the monitor (due to driver problems)?

Apolgies if those questions seem stupid, I'm not very technically minded when it comes to computers!

woodchip 12:03 17 Jul 2013