Modem/router problems

weatherson 14:27 29 Feb 2008

Hi guys, new to the site.

I recently set up a home network using a Micronet sp3367 modem/router I bought from maplins. I'm new to networking, and the instructions with the router were not very helpful. I eventually got it working, and have sorted a few problems by looking up on the net. But I still have a problem I have not been able to solve.

The router seems to disconnect regularly, and I lose my internet connection. I can still log onto the router to reset it, so it's not the wireless side of things. The reset sometimes works, but usually only for a very short time. Thing is, sometimes it will work fine for hours on end, and then it just seems to give up. I have to reset my pc and switch the modem on/off to get a reliable connection back, and even that doesn't always work. There doesn't seem to be much online support for the router, I've not even been able to locate a copy of the firmware.

If anyone has any ideas on where I can start please let me know as it's driving me nuts!

Please bear in mind I'm quite new to this.

MAJ 22:45 29 Feb 2008

It sounds suspiciously like a bad line, weatherson. Open the router's configuration page and see if you can see an entry for the line stats. Look for the readings for SNR and Attenuation and post those readings.

To open the router's configuration page, open your browser and type in:

and enter the uusername: admin and the password: admin, and click OK.

weatherson 10:31 01 Mar 2008

Ok, below are some readings I found under the device info tab in the routers setup screen. I'm not sure, but it looks like this is what you wanted to see.

ADSL

ADSL Firmware Ver: FwVer:3.5.10.5_A_TC3084 HwVer:T14.F7_0.0

Line State: Showtime

Modulation: G.DMT

Annex Mode: ANNEX_A

Downstream Upstream

SNR Margin: 16.0 20.0 db

Line Attenuation: 46.0 31.0 db

Data Rate: 2304 288 bps

MAJ 13:35 01 Mar 2008