Mobile Broadband - More For Your Money

pgj 19:46 05 Jan 2009

I have just purchased the Huawei E 160 G USB Modem on the 3 mobile Broadband net work. My intention is to use this for short periods of surfing at work (I’m a Market Trader) in conjunction with my laptop which is running Vista Home basic. After a very short time of use I found out how easy it is to be caught out by automatic down loads – namely Microsoft was about to use up 35mb of my price plan. I decided right away to switch off automatic updates and opted to be asked before such updates started - i.e. I can do that type of update at home for free on the house hold wireless system.

This got me thinking whether there was other setting I could change on my lap top to reduce the rate at which my broadband time is eaten up. For instance can I reduce the amount of downloading there is on a standard net page so that I only get to see the text etc? Are there other automatic down load items I should consider or anything that will extend the life of my mobile surfing time per £ I pay?

Kind Regards Paul

Whiteadder310556 22:26 05 Jan 2009

Don't surf in to youtube because it may start downloading straight away and some of the files are quite large!

theDarkness 02:08 06 Jan 2009