missing cd rom on startup question

patso 23:39 19 Sep 2005

a friend of mine has asked me to help him ,his problem is when he starts his pc and inserts a cd the pc cant find it and it gives him a message d:/ is not accessible incorrect function. but when he reboots with the disc in the drive the pc then seems to be ablr to find the disc.hes using xp home with sp2.any ideas?

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 23:41 19 Sep 2005

Uninstall and reinstall the IDE channel the drive is on.

keith-236785 23:43 19 Sep 2005

goto device manager and uninstall the cdrom drive, then click Actions on the menu bar, select scan for hardware changes.

let windows install the cdrom and try again, dont know why it works when booted up with a disk in and not when its empty but it might be the start of the drive failing.

patso 23:52 19 Sep 2005

thanks for the answers but hes a complete beginner how do you un and re install the ide channel. i will email this page to him.also his pc is not that old so he may have deleted some thing.thanks patso

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 00:01 20 Sep 2005

Control panel - system - hardware -device manager - click on the + next to IDE/ATA/Atpi controllers , select the channel (probably secondary), right click select uninstall from the menu.

To reinstall Action scan for new hardware.

But it is often better to reboot afterthe uninstall XP will find new hardware and install on the reboot.

patso 00:05 20 Sep 2005

thanks again i only hope he has the install discs for the drive .i will post back after he trys thanks again

rjv 14:48 20 Sep 2005

With any luck he shouldn't need discs - XP should have the relevant drivers.