Missing 512k Ram

monkeyboy21 12:46 03 Oct 2006

Hi, I've recently been having problems with my PC running very slowly, so i've tried everything to cure it. I've run anti spyware, up-to-date AV and checked my ZA firewall is up to date. I've been reading the forums and decided to try CCleaner. I downloaded this and just as i was about to run it saw i only had 512k RAM on the spec list, which i thought was odd, as i should have 1024k (which i think is DDR). I went into My Computer and lo and behold, that's saying only 512K. I'm wondering what could have happened to the other 512k, and can i recover it? I should have 2 x 512 sticks (!). Can one just stop performing? You i just buy more RAM?

Thanks for any help!

ps not sure if i should have posted in absolute beginners for this thread?

Diodorus Siculus 12:48 03 Oct 2006

For a start, I hope it's Mb you are taking about and not k's :-)

Anyway, it's possible that one failed - did you ever have 1024mb?

When booting the PC you should see a message re. memory; what's there?

monkeyboy21 12:57 03 Oct 2006

Yep, sorry 512mb!

Yes, i had the card put in about 6 months ago, i game a little so needed the larger capacity - will reboot and let you know about the message!

monkeyboy21 13:11 03 Oct 2006

couldn't see the message, it only lists graphics card, than the processor - rebooted x2 to check! If one has failed how can i check which one?

VoG II 13:21 03 Oct 2006

What does Belarc say click here

Also SIW click here

monkeyboy21 13:23 03 Oct 2006

I have just run a Crucial system scanner on my memory after looking around the forums, and its indicating the 2nd slot is empty. I can see the slot is full! By my powers of deduction i assume this would mean the card is probably not working correctly or has indeed failed!

monkeyboy21 13:35 03 Oct 2006

This is getting interesting, i ran SIW, and its telling me the 2nd slot is occupied as follows:

Device locator Slot 2
Serial No 00000000
Capacity 512 MBytes