Microsoft Windows XP Home OEM or Retail

crumbleeze 15:17 10 Feb 2006

I have been running Windows 98 for several years and would like to now go to XP Home. However, when I look into it I see that Microsoft Windows OEM XP Home Edition Inc SP2 is advertised at £59.03 inc VAT and Microsoft Windows Retail XP Home Inc SP2 costs £177.03. Can some kind person tell me what the difference is that makes the Retail version three times the price of the OEM.
Thanks,
crumbleeze

Monument 15:28 10 Feb 2006

Have a look at this current thread on the very subject click here

ade.h 16:03 10 Feb 2006

Inyour case, since you are not intending to build a new tower, you do not have a right to purchase OEM. If you built your own tower using new components, you could.

However, as a Windows 98 user, you may have a right to buy an upgrade copy at less that £80 retail. This may hinge on whether you have an OEM or full copy of Win 98. You will ideally need the CD too, as by far the best way to install a new OS is to do it on a clean drive.

Monument 16:20 10 Feb 2006

"you do not have a right to purchase OEM"

What this actually means is that if a supplier sells you an OEM copy without you purchasing a complete system then this is in breach of the licence conditions.

ventanas 17:11 10 Feb 2006

OEM Rules click here

You cannot buy OEM as has already been stated. Nor can anyone sell or attempt to sell you one. To do so is illegal. But as has also already been stated, you do qualify for a retail upgrade version, but unless you have a full Win98 CD you would run into problems if you ever need to reinstall XP from scratch. You would still have to go through the motions of putting '98 on first. My advice is to buy the full version. I know it's pricey, but worth it.

You also say you have been running Win 98 for "several years." You might like to post the spec here to see if it's feasable to upgrade.

ade.h 17:33 10 Feb 2006