microsoft frontpage

1towatch 22:17 03 May 2004

this is my first attempt at a web site - i have created a products page with a link to the order page, what i would like help with is when you press the order button, how do i transfer that info into the order sheet ? e.d. if a click order on item 1 it goes to the order form, but that is blank. what i would like is the order form to be filled in with the details. can this be done ??

Forum Editor 23:19 03 May 2004

to know which version of FrontPage you're using, and if you have the site online could you post the address for us please?

1towatch 21:37 04 May 2004

the web site is not on the web yet and on a totly different thread i would appriciate advice on 'up-loading' and who to select ! the front page is the 2000 edition

Forum Editor 22:24 04 May 2004

in which case you'll need to arrange for hosting. If you plan to use any of the special features of FP 2000 you should elect to run your site on a Windows server with FrontPage extensions installed, and any good web host will automatically offer that facility. I suggest that you take a look at click here which is an excellent hosting company. You can buy your domain name at the same time as setting up your account.

Once you have your server space with your username and password you can upload your site direct from FrontPage - just go to File/publish and follow the prompts to publish your site to the server. Make sure that you also publish to a folder on your hard drive, so you always have a copy of the site on your computer. When making changes to the site, never work 'live' on the server copy - edit the hard drive copy and then publish to the server from that. Remember that when you publish to the server you'll overwrite the existing files, so check your site using FP's 'preview in browser' option before publishing.

1towatch 19:52 09 May 2004