maximise efficiency: advice wanted

RobberBaron 16:10 23 Jan 2003
  RobberBaron 16:10 23 Jan 2003

I am a novice user who wants to maximise the efficiency of my b>Compaq Presario 3060 /b> which I’ve been struggling with for the past three years. Apparently cannot be upgraded. It has a Pentium processor with MMX; 200mh; 24 MB of Ram and a 2 GB hard drive which is partitioned.

I use it mainly for Word applications as well as Internet Explorer and Outlook Express. I also run Power Desk 4; Norton Anti-Virus; Powerbook 4 and Internet Cleanup. I am intending to change from ’95 to Windows 98. How can I maximise this usage by deleting shortcuts, rationalising the start-up menu &c ? I would like faster boot-up and programme loading. Thanks.

BrianW 16:56 23 Jan 2003

You may be better staying with Win95. I have a feeling that you are running very close to the minimum spec for Win98 - particularly your RAM (24 mb of RAM is the absolute minimum recommended by Microsoft. You can speed up your boot up by reducing the number of programmes in your Start menu. Defragmenting your hard drive should spped up your programme loading and data access. If you can find a way of getting more RAM in this would help as well - but I think you may have difficulty in getting any these days, If you can get more RAM installed then try E-Bay as a source

Novis 13:14 24 Jan 2003

Hmn ... the outlook seems bleak, I know: thanks for this BrianW. Anyone else have other ideas? RB

Djohn 13:27 24 Jan 2003

Agree with BrianW, there is nothing to be gained by upgrading to 98 with the specs of your sys. and much to lose.

win 95 is a good O/S and as above trimming the amount of programs running at the same time will help a lot.

If you close all your background programs, except for, explorer, sys. tray, and anti virus, then you will notice a difference.