making windows 7 safe for children

pookie 13:04 30 Oct 2010

Hi

Thinking of getting son a windows 7 laptop for homework as he has just started senior school (11 years old). On my own xp pc I have free avast, pc tools firewall and spywareblaster as security. Would I install the same for windows 7?

What is the best way to restrict the websites he can view? Should I forget about the free security and get a paid for one that has some sort of parential control on it? Or are there parential controls you can tick within IE8 or Opera browers?

Many thanks

P

pompyx 13:11 30 Oct 2010

This might be worth looking at pookie.

click here

hastelloy 13:57 30 Oct 2010

pompyx's link gives you info on parental control and there is a link to Windows Live Family safety click here. I have no experience of these but, for Windows 7, can recommend MSE click here with Windows Firewall, Superantispyware and Nalwarebytes. CCleaner is also an invaluable tool click here.

hastelloy 13:58 30 Oct 2010

Nalwarebyte = Malwarebytes

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 15:43 30 Oct 2010

Marvin42's recommendations for protecting a W7 machine are excellent.

Parental controls are built into W7 click here

Gongoozler 16:10 30 Oct 2010

I recommend K9 web protection. I don't know how it compares with Windows 7s own control, but I have found it very good. click here

Forum Editor 16:26 30 Oct 2010

and about to start senior school he will very soon be capable of circumventing any parental controls you might put in place. If he doesn't work it out for himself, someone at school will 'educate' him.

At his age he'll rapidly develop an interest in seeing the things you don't want him to see, and the best you can hope to do is postpone the day.