making my site look professional (NOF/dreamweaver)

mco 19:13 27 Sep 2005

Finally plucked up courage to ask advice - please be gentle!! I made a site for local councillor (ignore the politics) Total novice, I just used first(web-based) WYSIWYG program I found...9 months on, punters are perfectly happy, but the more I learn here, the more a fraud I feel, and all I can see is my amateur bits and the limitations of the current program. I want my site to look like a professional site PLUS I want to extend my skills. I've access to dreamweaver or NOF and have read the posts about them on here: Should I plough thru dreamweaver and reap the benefits or settle for the easier NOF?
click here

Taran 20:29 27 Sep 2005

you've nothing to be ashamed of if that is indeed your first effort, even if you did use a web based program to create the site.

Dreamweaver is superb, but I feel somewhat overrated.

NetObjects is also superb, but in different ways and for different reasons. I feel that it is vastly underrated, mostly by people who don't appreciate its full capabilities.

Now, the tool (or software) you use is not nearly as important as how you use it. I know loads of people who have the latest all-singing-all-dancing software and their results are poor, simply because they have the tools there but don't know how to use them properly.

A close friend (and incredible web developer) stubbornly refuses to go beyond Dreamweaver MX (version 6). She says that she knows it inside out (which she does) and the added features of MX 2004 or the latest version 8 are either of little use to her or she has already written her own extensions to do, broadly speaking, what the latest versions do. She makes me sick... ;o)