Lost online help files in IE 6

Ianhut 12:02 25 Sep 2006

Basics: Running XP home edition. My computer is DELL Dimension 4500 and XP was pre-installed. Automatic updates on and none seem to be required. [Not sure if this is relevant, but I recently reinstalled IE 6 after I found IE 7 beta affected earlier scanner software]
I am an amateur with computers, but I am trying to widen my knowledge.

Problem: When I try to open help files, in Internet Explorer version 6.2 I get list of INDEX subject listings but when I highlight one and click DISPLAY I get "web page cannot be displayed".

Things tried: I confess that I do not completely understand Microsoft page on "How to reinstall or repair Internet Explorer and Outlook Express in Windows XP" and possible effects of service packs, but after reading it I tried their suggestion:

Run: sfc /scannow

Was prompted for the Windows XP CD but as XP was pre-installed I only have recovery CD.
I tried inserting CD at prompt and clicking "retry" but this only got me into a catch 22 situation of
CANCEL > retry prompt >CANCEL > retry prompt >etc until I chose "emergency" shut down

I think that directly editing the registry would be beyond me, but perhaps you can suggest an alternative approach, (or some software), that might help me safely find/replace/install what I believe are called
Help .chm files.
If installation is not possible perhaps you can point me to an online site where they may be read.

Your expertise is appreciated.
Thanks for your help - Ian

VoG II 12:10 25 Sep 2006

Try this click here

Ianhut 11:41 26 Sep 2006

11:30AM 26 Sept: I hope it is proper for the person who originally posted to add comments here. If not please forgive me as I can knew that this posting business.