Lost emails

Shine77 21:27 04 Apr 2006

Hi, I posted about this in the Absolute Beginners section but I'm thinking it might be more fitting to put it here instead...

I was looking for information about backing-up important data on my PC and came across this thread about backing up emails in OE

click here

Having read through it all I decided it would be easier to back-up emails if they were in My Documents so I went through the recommendations in the fifth post down.

However...

When I went to My Documents I discovered
1. That while the seperate files in OE have been saved, I can't open them and I'm not sure if that's normal. The same applies to the addresses I saved.

But worse than that...
2. Some of the folders from OE and the emails in them have seem to have been saved to My Documents rather than just copied so I can no longer access them at all. These folders in OE, seven of them, are now empty.

I'm not sure how or why this has happened but can anyone tell me how to transfer the contents of these folders back to OE!

And if it would make more sense to try and return my Store of emails back to where it was in the first place. In which case, how do I do that?

Many thanks in hopeful anticipation...!

VoG II 21:47 04 Apr 2006

I'm not sure what you have done or why but have you tried Import on the File menu in OE?

Shine77 21:58 04 Apr 2006

Okay, I tried that but I got this message after I located the folders :

'No messages could be found in this folder or another application is running that has the required files open. Please select another folder or try closing applications that may have files open.'

And, no, I don't know what I've done either but I fear it's not good. As for why I did it, well, I was trying to do the right thing and get a workable backup of my emails! A little knowledge is a dangerous thing, I guess...

VoG II 22:05 04 Apr 2006

Search for *.dbx files.

lotvic 22:58 04 Apr 2006