locking layer in CS2

[email protected] 23:50 24 Jul 2006

hi guys, i produce flyers for a dj friend, these involve images and multiple txt layers. with PS7 i could construct and possition the text then lock the layers together allowing me to d & d the intricate stuff on to a background layer.
so ive got the txt composed i need to drag them to the bg layer, how the hell dio i drag them as a lump.
the little chain / lock symbol isnt highlighted and when i hover i get a black circle with a line through it. layers are composed on a transparent in RGB/8 mode.....HELP

fazer 13:17 25 Jul 2006

I'm not 100% certain what you mean - why can't you "flatten" the text layers then drag that image onto your background copy (after "cascading" them both)?

[email protected] 20:11 25 Jul 2006

i still need them editable once on the bg - see wot you mean flattening to create a block.... cascading????new to CS2

fazer 12:46 26 Jul 2006

Mole-Inc

I'm still learning Photoshop and I think the term "cascade" is mine - I meant tiling the images on the main part of the screen whilst all images are visible. Sorry.

I can only suggest another workaround - could you not save the text layers as a PSD file (layers intact) then drag and drop it onto the background - meaning all layers will then remain distinct from each other and thus editable.

fazer 13:54 28 Jul 2006

Another work around is keep all the layers including the background layer in the one place and then click over the litte "eye" symbol to hide whatever layer you want.

[email protected] 12:37 31 Jul 2006

cheers fazer, been away from pc, ill give it a go. thnks

[email protected] 10:45 20 Aug 2006

yep, got it done, see the flyer at click here. cheers fazer, appologies for the delay

cycoze 14:18 20 Aug 2006