Live chat - tell me all about it.

jack O'lantern 10:15 22 Dec 2010

So far over all the years, I have been aware of 'Live Chat' on my desk top- but to me it is/was just another Icon - and have never investigated its potential or usefulness.
Then on Sunday last whilst checking my webmail a yelloow box popped up suggesting the C... was on line.
C... being a contact in the snows of Alberta Canada, I thought 'What does this mean' and suddenly I/We ewere live chatting back and forth via our keyboards.
Something new and useful then.

This morning when I fired up and looked in mail a script came up with words to the effect
'Chat has been closed' because you have logged on from another computer'
Well I havn't - so Who did and from where?
Is someone pirating my wireless router?
This device too is new and I am still learning.

For example whilst at home I can access the web from my iTouch.
Being curious as to the range possiblities I took the Touch to my mate in the next road- may be only 50 yards away across the gardens- but 5 minutes walk round the road- to see if I could connect from there - but no it didn't.
So any thoughts please.

ashleycardwell94 00:55 23 Dec 2010

i presume you made an account and were you using windows live messenger?

If you receive the message about being logged in from a different location, then you probably gave. I used Windows live messenger on my desktop and laptop and once the desktop signed in, a message popped up on my laptop saying that i was logged in at two locations. Ask if anyone has used you computer in your home. You or someone must have made an account for you to be able to use the live chat service.

It wouldn't be caused by someone else using your wireless network. They would have to log in to the chat program using your log in details, so if someone else is logging in to your account then they must know those.

I would suggest you change your password to be on the safe side click here (if it's Windows Live Messenger)