LinuxOS Live CD and file size

Picklefactory 11:39 11 Apr 2008

I'm currently trialling LinuxOS 2007, and finding it rather interesting. I'm only working from live CD at present, and tried downloading a 4Gb file last night, but it ran out of space to put it. I have 120Gb HDD with only about 50Gb used, so plenty of space there, however, when I check the file size of the Linux system, it's only 750Mb. I tried d/loading to C:/ (Where I have XP on the one and only partition), but it couldn't write to anywhere on that drive. That is confirmed when I check file properties in Linux for C:, I have view access, but not write. It'll only let me write to Linux Home or Guest area.
Is there a way around this, or do I need to install Linux completely and partition HDD to gain more space? How do I write to C: from Live CD or increase amount of space the Linux can access?
Cheers

ex-wirecutter 11:46 11 Apr 2008

I am not an expert but dont think you can write to C: from live CD as Linux is probably running in ram.

Picklefactory 11:49 11 Apr 2008

That would explain it then. I wonder where the 750Mb of available space is located? I have 1.5Gb of RAM installed, is it stuffing it in there?

ex-wirecutter 11:54 11 Apr 2008

Probably , I tried running Linux from live CD and although everything worked I could not save anything.
Each time I had to start from scratch.

Picklefactory 11:59 11 Apr 2008

Looks like time to decide to install or not. LinuxOS looks quite cute and friendly so far, I think I'll go for it, hope it doesn't turn out to have teeth later.

ex-wirecutter 12:03 11 Apr 2008

I tried it on an old hard drive first , I chose Ubuntu Linux , but if I were you I would leave this post open for a bit in case someone comes up with a solution , there are much more knowledgeable than me on this forum .

Picklefactory 12:05 11 Apr 2008

:-) Yeah, and me. I'll go with that thought.

An older thread on pclinuxos 2007
click here