Laser printer- is there a downside to cheap toner

Kurnal 13:22 12 Mar 2007

I have an HP4600 lkaserjet printer.
I see many adverts for cheap toner at about 10% of the OEM product- is there any downside to using cheap toner, does it damage or wear other parts of the printer? Or just give poorer quality print?

€dstowe 14:13 12 Mar 2007

I've refilled my laser printer cartridges for years now and not found anything wrong with the refill toner.

I did receive some once that was actually re-labelled Xerox toner which shows that, at least, had a good pedigree.

Belatucadrus 14:19 12 Mar 2007

I agree, I've been running a Samsung ML-1210 on cheap toner for about three years now, no problems and the money saved when comparing refills with a replacement cartridge has been considerable.

n4165si 14:20 12 Mar 2007

there is a very feint difference in the print quality ,probably you would not notice it, i am using a compatable cartridge for my epsom 5900 epl,and the main problem that i have encountered,is that you may be using a refilled cartridge which may have a noisy action,this last time as i had kept the original, i took the compatable out and refilled the original ,but sometimes the manufacturer glues his plastic filler cap in ,but providing you don't damage it, you can reseal it. if you want to go down the road of refilling yourself, make sure you can get the refil cap off easily.

€dstowe 14:31 12 Mar 2007

Like Belatucadrus, my lasers were Samsung 1210s. They worked very, very hard in a busy office and have now, after many years of excellent service, gone to wherever printers go in the sky. They wore out but certainly no complaints.

My current office "dogsbody" laser printers are HP 1018. That's not because I couldn't get Samsung models, just that the HPs were on offer and much cheaper than other models at the time I needed them.

Daiol 14:33 12 Mar 2007

Hi,I have a HP1010 printer been filling my toner for a long time with no complaints.Have a look here:click here