laptop specs for digital photography

Mahombi 14:43 14 Oct 2005

I'm a pro photographer, about to switch to digital, and need a (Windows based)laptop. Being naive in this area, I'd like to know what specs to look for, besides RAM and hard drive capacity. Some of the specs terminology is impressive, but (for me,) bewildering! Why a laptop over portable storage? Well, some jobs require me to deliver results on CD or DVD at the same time.

Also, is there such a thing as a single drive that will write (or preferably re-write) both CD's and DVD's? If so do these feature on laptops?

Kate B 14:55 14 Oct 2005

Presumably you're going to need to use Photoshop on the hoof, so you're looking at something with a fast hard drive and plenty of ram - I'd say don't go lower than 1GB of ram for starters. And a fast processor, plenty of storage space (presume you're using uncompressed tiffs or raw files).

You'll also want good battery life - the last thing you want is the lappy dying on you when you've got some agency or newsdesk howling at you. And a wireless card to connect to hotspots, and you might also consider some kind of GSM/GPRS data card, too, for when you're out of reach of a hotspot.

Yes, you can get combo DVD/CD writers.

What's your budget? It's going to cost ...

Mahombi 19:32 14 Oct 2005

Thanks for the response Kate B. Yes, I had in mind that much RAM. I was thinking along the lines of a 60Gb to 80Gb hard drive, although I won't be storing much on it. I intend to download to a separate hard drive back at the office. I had been thinking along the lines of not much over £1000 plus Vat. Although I'm starting to think that that's laughable!

PC Bilbo 19:40 14 Oct 2005

PCA does monthly tests and reviews and covers things like battery life which will be important as the stated manufacturers figures are usually overstated.