Laptop setup

Jadee 00:38 26 Dec 2007

I have setup my router hopefully OK but I cannot put my settings in from my main computer into laptop It is finding the the computer on my conections but won,t let me put settings in Can anybody help me please. I am new to all this

ambra4 03:00 26 Dec 2007

Not to sure what you trying to do what setting you trying to set up on the laptop via the main computer. File sharing, Printer sharing???

Each computer has to be set up separate to access the router and Internet

The main computer via the Lan card and the laptop either via the LAN card or via the wireless network card

Jadee 13:42 26 Dec 2007

The router is connected to the desktop which is running XP Now I am trying to establish a wireless connection to the laptop which is running Vista so I can go on the internet I thought you had to run the set up wizard to get the wep key settings on the laptop but it does'nt come up for me to put them in the laptop

Kemistri 13:53 26 Dec 2007

If Vista is the same as XP in this regard, you need only click on the Wireless LAN icon in the Notification Area (bottom right); browse for your network by its SSID (service set ident); click on it; enter your WPA-PSK twice (you should NOT use WEP); and connect. Job done, and no wizards. If you wish to add this client to the workgroup, add the workgroup name (case sensitive, which is not obvious at first sight) into the relevant pane of My Computer's properties window.

ambra4 14:06 26 Dec 2007

No No

Once you have set up the router wireless with the SSID name the channel # and the WPA-PSK key would suggest you save the information on a flash drive as the same SSID name and Channel # and Security Code must be used on All wireless device when setting then up to access your wireless system

By default some wireless router come set-up with the manufacture name as the SSID address 3Com, Linksys, Belkin etc,