laptop can't access desktop

Mooky 20:59 04 Feb 2006

Hi guy's. Will someone please put me out of my misery? Picture the scene. One laptop and one desktop connected together via network cards hub and cat5 cables. The problem is this. The desktop can access the laptop but not the other way around. Both machines are running XP Home. When I click on view workgroup computers both are displayed. If I then click on the desktop computer I get the following message again and again. computer is not accessible.You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions. Access is denied. AARRRGH! They both belong to the same workgroup name. I'm completely stumped, and a complete beginner to this networking any advice would be gratefully received Cheers Mooky.

jacqueline_1969 22:20 04 Feb 2006

Make sure file sharing is enabled on your desktop pc. If it is already abled make sure you have actually gave permision to access a folder on the network. If you go into view workgroup computer on your dekstop pc and access the desktop from there you will be able to see what folders you have shared on the network. Then check the folders in their original locations on your dekstop pc by going to properties and then sharing and make sure you have ticked the boxes to allow access from the laptop.

topsps 22:45 04 Feb 2006

I think the last reply has got the wrong end of the problem! I can empathise with Mooky I have exactly the same problem I am networking 2 desktops and 4 laptops using Windows xp Professional. The twi desktops can access each others shared files, the laptops can access the desktops but the desktops cannot access the shared files on the laptops - very frustrating and I cannot fix the problem some advice would be welcome

mgmcc 09:16 05 Feb 2006