Lan problem /local connection- internet problem

753Df 19:16 31 Jan 2009

I can not connect to the internet, I was told that I need a local or lan connectioon icon when I go to network connections in the control panel. This computer had thr hard drive formatted. I have a Dell dimisions 8300. How can I get this adaptor to load. Someome said try Bios via Bios, what is this and how do I get to it.

Eric10 20:29 31 Jan 2009

Assuming that you have installed Win XP after the reformat, you may need a driver for the network card. Check in Device Manager to see if it has a problem (yellow exclamation mark).
If it has a problem then click here for Dell Dimension 8300 drivers.

753Df 09:07 03 Feb 2009

Looked at the drivers but which one do I load on which sub area do I go to eg Communications, Networks etc, sorry am a complete novice as far as computers are concerned. Would really appreciate an idiot proof guide.

753Df 09:11 03 Feb 2009

I am thinking of buying a base unit, the kids use the computer for homework and obviously the Internet. Any idea what make and specifications I should go for and the price range is fron £200-£500.Any idea where from?

Eric10 21:15 03 Feb 2009

Since you are wanting network drivers, expand the Network section by clicking the + sign in front of it.
Of all the downloads listed only two are drivers so it's a choice between Broadcom and Intel with Broadcom being the favourite so I would suggest you download "Broadcom - Driver" (second in the list). This will download a self-extracting zip file called R56237.EXE which is 5.66MB in size. Make a note of where the file is saved then navigate to it. If you have had to download on a different PC then copy it to a flash drive or CD and put this into the required computer then double-click it. This will create a folder at C:\dell\drivers\R56237 and extract several files into it. The setup program will start automatically and install the drivers.

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.