LAN newbie confused - what type of wireless router

polymath 17:53 08 Jul 2008

I'm looking for some shopping advice, for connecting 2 computers (desktop & laptop, details below) wirelessly. I'm new to networking. I'm told I need a router, but don't know what a LAN one's called (as opposed to an ADSL/cable broadband one).

I presume any LAN will enable internet connection sharing? I'm getting BB installed in a week or so (transmitted from a mast - the BB installation only connects to one computer directly, via cable; to the desktop in my case).

I hope people don't mind such a basic query; I know lots of websites could help, but until I get the BB I can't always access them. I'm stuck with dialup and then some (9.6kbps to be exact); continually timed out (or cut off by the noisy phone line). PC Advisor's site, fortunately, is admirably easy on the kbps. (& its reply notification emails save a lot of browsing).

The BB cable plugs into a network (RJ45) port, and the computer just has one. Do I need some extra widget to use the same port for the LAN? Or perhaps to buy a particular variety of router?
Another tiresome elementary question; does the LAN also need a widget to plug into the laptop's network port (if so, what's it called?)

At the moment I'd just like to buy what's needed, and have the equipment about the same time as the broadband (I'll be able to browse the web then for how to set things up). Recommended manufacturers would be very useful too. Suggestions for shops would probably be wasted effort; I live in Ireland so can't buy from most UK retailers (high street or online). I can get just about any IT product from Maplins or Irish retailers.

I'll be back here as soon as I can, but it can take a day or 2 (spare time + connection quality).

Desktop; Packard Bell Ixtreme X2711. Laptop; Packard Bell Easynote BU45.