LAN network cable unplugged

Stressedout 23:18 09 Jan 2006

I am a bit of a novice when it comes to computers but can someone help me? I can get on the internet and into yahoo but not on hotmail, or set up broadband on my computer. My LAN connection says that there is a cable unplugged, and also seems to suggest that it may be my firewall that is causing the obstruction. I can't seem to access any sites or connections that require private data!! Any help greatly appreciated

Minkey1 00:00 10 Jan 2006

Firewalls can prevent some programmes from accessing the internet. Can you give a bit more info ? Which firewall do you have ?

If you've been "unable to set up broadband", how do you get on to the internet ? Do pages actually display ? Do you have another email add which uses, for example, Outlook or Outlook Express ? If so, can you send/receive emails via these other programmes ?

Has your broadband connection been enabled by your ISP ?

Do you use a network, or simply a PC and a modem/router ? If you're not using a network, the LAN connection can be disabled - you won't then get the pair of blue screens with the red cross. This doesn't in itself affect your internet access.

Please give more info and someone will be able to point you in the right direction.

Mike

phono 00:45 10 Jan 2006

If your PC has a LAN connection (Network connection port) that is not connected to a network of some sort then you may well receive this error.

If your Broadband modem is a USB version then you may still receive the "cable unplugged" error message.

Give us some more detail, ISP, connection method, such as USB modem LAN etc.

Regards,

Tom

Stressedout 19:23 10 Jan 2006

I have ad-adware and ad-watch as the protection programs with windows firewall in place. In reply to the other responses I can get the Internet with my dial up connection and I can e-mail through yahoo. the message says 'network cable unplugged, firewalled'

Stressedout 19:34 10 Jan 2006