Lack of wireless security and junk mail

TAJTAK 11:29 09 Aug 2006

Please help! I'm the beginner's absolute beginner when it comes to all things wireless. I've managed to set up a wireless connection between the main pc at home and my laptop using a Speedtouch 580 modem router. However, when I use the my laptop to access the internet I'm never asked for any passwords as I did not set up any security. I've also seen a significant increase in the amount of junk email, offering rolex watches to the unmentionable, my question is whether this is due to there being no security or passowrds when going wireless? And if so, how to I go about setting up security on my wireless connection? My one lame attempt resulted in me going around in circles and finally giving up. If you could help out a gal in distress, that would be super!
Merci buckets.

ed-0 11:54 09 Aug 2006

re security.

have you followed pages 9 to 11 on click here

FelixTCat 12:08 09 Aug 2006

TAJTAK,

You are receiving spam because your email address has somehow become known to them. This could be because you have registered with various web sites which may or may not have been very secure, or the spammers have penetrated the address book of somebody who has your address in it. The most important thing is never to reply to these in any way as that confirms yours is a live address.

You will also get random spam, e.g. if you have a hotmail address, a spammer will send email to every possible combination of names, letters and numbers @hotmail.com - a few are bound to be real.

The issue of passwords on the web is less clear. If you have set up a modem to connect to the internet, the modem issues your password to the ISP to make the connection, so you normally do not need to. After that, it is only secure sites such as banks or online shopping that require a password (or sites like this that require one for posting but not for reading).