JavaScript positioning?

Foolsbane_1 11:33 15 Jul 2003

As a complete novice, I set myself a little project as a way of getting to know a little more about how this stuff works. But, despite studying untold numbers of online tutorials, examining various samples and experimenting endlessly, I have to admit that I am stuck.

The object of the exercise was to create a web page with a grid of cells which are randomly re-numbered each time the page is reloaded. I have managed to find and adapt the code to randomise the numbers, but I have not been able to figure out how to position those numbers on the existing grid(s).

Any helpful suggestions would be deeply appreciated.

oliverdore 13:43 15 Jul 2003

To be honest, I wouldn't know where to start! You've set yourself one hell of an objective in order to develop your JavaScript skills. There are plenty of people on this forum with some great skills though, so bump...

-oliverdore-

User-312386 00:20 16 Jul 2003

what software are you using to develope the site?

My site click here uses the same sort of scripting, but on the front page the picture radomly changes, just click refresh on my page or click the HOME PAGE button again and the picture will change

madboy33

Foolsbane_1 07:58 16 Jul 2003

I was hoping to spare our readers a long-winded explanation. Just remember! It was you who asked! ;o)

The whole thing started when I was asked to do a little print design project for a charity pub quiz. I won't go into too much detail, but the form of the quiz involves having two grids of 22 cells on the answer sheet. These cells must be randomly numbered in the range 1 - 22.

Now, this is a very small-scale job involving the printing of no more than twenty or thirty sheets each month. So it is no big deal to simply reorder the numbering manually. But it occured to me that there might be a way of automating the process using a random content generation script similar to that which you have used on your website.