Internet problems (downloading, Hotmail, browsing)

j.woody 08:59 27 Sep 2008

hi,this is my first time here and i have got 3 very annoying problems.
1. everytime i try to download anything of the internet it says "Internet cannot display this webpage".
2. when i type in click here the window to hotmail goes white but the Tab has the hotmail logo and its says "Sign In".
3. when i go to a search engine e.g google, yahoo etc.. and type in anything i want to search for, it finds it but when i click on the link, a new window appears and comes up with something completely irrelevant to what i was looking for, also the new window, at the address bar says click here= "or" click here= when its downloading the web page depnding on what search engine i go on. Also after the = it has lots of diffrent numbers and letters.

Please can you help me with these problems, it would be much appreciated.

p.s. i have got windows xp home edition sp2. and internet explorer 7 and the new firfox 3.
These problems started a couple of months ago when someone installed windows xp sp3 but then got removed on the sameday.

Technotiger 09:32 27 Sep 2008

Hi, welcome to the best Forum on the Net ... first thing to try is a System Restore back to before SP3 was attempted - Start>All programs>Accessories>System Tools>System restore, then choose a date shown in Bold print - before SP3!

After that, if still no good, run click here in its default form - in fact it would not hurt to run that anyway after doing the System Restore.

Any further problems, come back here - plenty of guys and gals ready and willing to lend a hand.

Also stick with this one Thread until completion, hopefully.

Finally, for the moment anyway, I would advise you to download the Forum Rules by clicking on the link at near the top of this page - the Rules are only a couple of pages.

j.woody 09:41 27 Sep 2008