Intel q6660 Quad core chip

sharkyy 16:40 20 Dec 2012

I am a compleat noob when it comes to chips but i thought i would upgrade from Dual core to quad core.My question is, Why has the quad core chip got no pins on it ? I thought you hade to make sure they were aligned properly when instaling ? Have i bought a dud ? Thank you in a dvance for any advice.

northumbria61 17:06 20 Dec 2012

I am no expert on this but I know some of the more up to date chips (as in the LINK) have no pins - they are actually on the motherboard. The link is just an example for you to see and relates to an i7 seriesenter link description here

northumbria61 17:11 20 Dec 2012

More is explained if you click on where it says Here is a couple of picture which can be found at pcstats.com

Ian in Northampton 17:22 20 Dec 2012

Do you know for sure that your motherboard is compatible with the CPU you're planning to fit?

northumbria61 17:27 20 Dec 2012

Ian - Good question. I assumed he would have already done his homework seeing as he has already made the purchase - but maybe not.

Ian in Northampton 17:48 20 Dec 2012

He did say he was a compleat (sic) noob - but there are different levels of noob. There are things to do with PCs where I consider myself a noob - and others where I consider myself a little bit competent. Which is what I love about this site - the opportunity to give as well as receive.

sharkyy 19:38 20 Dec 2012

I have changed PCU and GPU and added fans but chips are new to me. I have checked out that the chip is compatable. Seeing that the chip has no holes in it, i take it the chip sits on top of the pins ?

sharkyy 19:56 20 Dec 2012

Thanks for the info. It has now made things clear for me to procede. I have a P5QPL-AM motherboard which supports the core 2 quad chip.

sharkyy 10:33 21 Dec 2012

Just a follow up. I have installed the new cpu but it is running very hot. The stock fan is sitted correctly. Any ideas ?

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 11:10 21 Dec 2012