Installed new memory but seems no faster

chocolatejo987 07:10 29 Aug 2007

I'm a bit of a novice, but was fed up of my PCs slowness (as it gets older and fuller!).

Someone said that the 256 memory was too small, and no wonder it was grinding to a halt.

So I bought an extra 1gb, and installed it this morning. Nothing seems any better (so far).

The instructions said to have the larger memory in slot 0, so I took the original one out, and put the new on in that slot, and the old one in the other slot (I presumed the original slot was 0).

What's gone wrong? Were my expectations wrong?

Technotiger 07:18 29 Aug 2007

Hi, run the scan from Crucial click here this will tell you if there is any problem with your Memory. For instance, did you buy the correct type to match what you already have? Also try your new 1Gb on its own to see if that makes any noticeable difference.

chocolatejo987 07:37 29 Aug 2007

Thanks, I used that scanner to purchase my memroy and bought it from crucial so I'm guessing it's right! The scanner came up with 1.25gb total, so I'm also guessing its installed right.

Technotiger 07:41 29 Aug 2007

Yes, it is, maybe your expectations were a bit high - however, you should still see a marked improvement in some things, like web-pages loading quicker and perhaps games also running quicker. Also, but less noticeable, you should be able to run multiple jobs at the same time.

Technotiger 07:45 29 Aug 2007

Another thing that can help to speed things up is to regularly run programs like CCleaner click here also your normal Anti-virus program, and Ad-Aware ... and any other such programs of your own choice - all these things help to keep a PC running mean-and-lean!

Technotiger 07:50 29 Aug 2007