I'm New to this so please be patient

Fred the flour grader 21:39 26 Dec 2006

Hi Guys,

On Xmas day, my wife presented me with a brand new Compaq laptop computer, my first one!. It was intended to replace my ageing old Advent 3301pc that I purchased in 1999. I am connected to the internet through Blueyonder wireless broadband, via the blueyonder set top box. I want to basically swap all my email accounts to the new laptop whilst also allowing the kids to take the old Advent upstairs to the bedroom so they can have a pc up there, and share the internet connection.
The exsisting set up has a Netgear wireless access point plugged into the back of the set top box and the signal is recieved by the pc via a wireless usb adapter. It states on the Netgear wireless access point that only one computer can use this unit so, I am aware that I will probably require a new Netgear unit. Blueyonder have on their site that Netgear will sell these at a good rate to exsisting Blueyonder customers at preferential rates, however I think I have seen the same units in pc world for less.
What I am really looking for is a simple explanation on how to create a home network for someone like me to understand. I am using XP on the new laptop and 98se on the old Advent, would this cause a problem? Also I am using AVG free on the old Advent, but have the option of Norton on the new laptop, which I don't really like, so do I need an anti virus for each pc or just one for the network?
Any help really appreciatted,
regards,
Fred.

Strawballs 23:40 26 Dec 2006

click here

click here

For a router if you wish to go this way click here I myself have the linksys WRT54G through NTL STB 4meg

Strawballs 23:42 26 Dec 2006

Sorry should have read thread properly my first link must have 2 XP machines but the second will work with router

Fred the flour grader 10:30 27 Dec 2006

Thanks Strawballs,