IEEE1394 card compatibility

Newby 09:19 30 Jun 2004

I have just bought a Canon MV5i digital video camera which has MiniDV (tape). I am wondering if it will show on my non-digital TV.
I have also JUST ordered an IEEE1394 PCI card and cable to fit in my computer which is a Dell Dimension 4100, 933MHz CPU and Windows Me.
I am completely new to firewire and have just learned a bit about it from a thread in this helproom.
Questions! Am I liable to have any problems connecting my camers to the TV?
What if any are the potential problems and pitfalls in viewing and editing my video film on my computer?
I'd welcome your advice.
Thanks.

GroupFC 10:26 30 Jun 2004

I have a Canon MV530i which is, I believe, an earlier model to yours. I have no problem hooking this up to my non-digital TV and playing the tapes.

As to the second question, I am not sure. Video-editing uses a considerable amount of resources and the resulting files can be huge (particularly avi files which can be as big as 1GB for about 4 mins of video!). My experience of video-editing is that you need considerable patience and a fair amount of time, but I have only just started dabbling in it.

When I get home tonight (if nobody has posted any before then!), I'll have a look for some useful links to point you in the right direction.

In the meantime here's one to get you started click here

stlucia 13:32 30 Jun 2004

I don't have your particular camera but, providing it had DV-out (they all have, I'm sure), you can just plug it into your firewire (IEEE1394) or USB socket on your PC for downloading. Also, it will probably come with a set of leads for connection to a normal TV.