ICS Set Up But Not Working

Archie85 19:33 10 Feb 2006

Hi, I have set up a wireless network between my desktop and laptop. My laptop has built in wireless connectivity and I am using a Wireless LAN USB Adapter 802.11g on the desktop. I am connected on a peer-to-peer network and file and printer sharing is enabled and works fine.

I have set up ICS using the Wizard, and have ticked the correct boxes about sharing the connection, but I cannot connect to the Internet on the laptop. I have Telewest and my external modem is connected via LAN in an NIC on my desktop.

I don't want to use a router so can anyone please give me some advice as to what I can try to get the network to work. I have tried disabling the firewall and I have entered the IP address, subnet and default gateway manually on the laptop as it was not working automatically either.

Please help as I have limited knowledge when it comes to networking!

mgmcc 20:12 10 Feb 2006

I know you have run the wizard, but is ICS set up on the correct connection, which should be the ethernet adapter that connects to your Cable Modem? When you enabled this, it should have configured the Wireless Adapter automatically with the fixed IP address of 192.168.0.1 and Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

The laptop should be set to get its IP address automatically which it does by DHCP from the "host" PC. Is it configured this way and does it have an address in the 192.168.0.x range? Windows Internet Connection Sharing tends no to like "client" PCs being given fixed IP addresses.

Archie85 14:03 11 Feb 2006

Under 'Network Connections' I have a Local Area Connection - NVIDIA nForce NCP Networking Controller, which is the one I have enabled internet sharing on, and then I have a 1934 Connection. I have tried to share the internet on this 1394 connection instead but then all that happens is I lose the Internet on the host computer as well until I change the shared connection back to the Local Area Connection.

mgmcc 15:13 11 Feb 2006